Crusty Bread Rolls

The bread served at the start of a meal is a great indicator of what lays ahead; a basket of cold, hard bread is unlikely to fill you with confidence. Some warm, fragrant bread will, however, relax you, putting your mind at rest that you are going to be well looked after.

I have been working on  a new bread recipe for my new restaurant – Guy Awford at The Guildford. I want it to be very different to the bread we serve at Inside Restaurant, which is made with olive oil and water, and served in slices with marinated olives and olive oil. For the new restaurant I want a crusty white roll, that can be served warm with farmhouse butter.

Using my tried and trusted milk bread recipe as a starting point I experimented with different ratios of milk, water and butter until I hit the perfect balance. It’s important to cut an incision in the top of the bread before baking as this helps the bread to rise in the oven, giving a much lighter result.

Proving the bread rolls

Soft Bread Rolls

550g Strong Bread Flour
65g Soft Butter
150ml ml Warm Water
150ml Warm Milk
Small Pinch of Fresh Yeast
1tsp Sugar
2tsp Salt

  • Sift the flour & rub in butter.
  • Whisk the water, milk, yeast & sugar together.
  • Pour into flour mix.
  • Lightly knead for 3 minutes·
  • Cover with oiled cling film and leave in a warm place to prove.
  • When it has doubled in size knock it back & divide into 16 balls.
  • Place on a floured tray.
  • Cover with oiled cling film and allow to double in size.
  • Remove the cling film and cut an insision in the top of the bread.
  • Dust with flour and bake for 20 minutes at 190C.
White Bread Rolls
3 thoughts on “Crusty Bread Rolls

  1. today I have tried to make these rolls. They are very slow to prove, despite temperature being warm enough. Can you check recipe – I have made rolls. per recipe but looking at it now wonder if ingredients are in wrong order to the quantities. ie a small pinch of yeast – should this be 1 teaspoon (as per sugar) or 2 teaspoons (as per salt). yeast seems too low and salt too high. I will continue and cook the rolls but next time would like to be sure.

    1. Hi Leslie. It will work quicker if you increase the amount of yeast. If I am in a hurry I do add quite a large piece. I also notice that I didn’t clarify that it is fresh yeast I used (I have now). I’m not sure if you are using fresh or dried. If it is dried just follow the packet instructions as a guide.

  2. Thank you Guy. . I have just found a similar recipe and the quantity of dried yeast used is 2 teaspoons. I am unable to get fresh yeast, So next time I try your recipe I will do it with 2 teaspoons of dried yeast and see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

